A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

Unmasking his cool | July 25, 2009

So after the sex-athon with Conall, he did manage a few syllables and we talked. Sure it was like drawing blood, the talking, not the sex, painful on some level,  but it’s not the kind of situation you can ignore and hope it suddenly goes away because you weren’t paying attention to it.

He ran his nose, softly around the back of my ear, and inhaled  the scent from my neck, slowly as he said to me

“You know why we’re like this, rough all over?”

“Why?”

“Because we’re meant to be together.   I know you’re my pack mate. Everything good in this world is never easy when you want it.  But that doesn’t mean it isn’t worth it.”

Tragic romantic that I am, fell for that hook, line and sinker. Then to make me sink further into the romance of him, he pushed my hair behind my ear, over my shoulder, kissed my neck lightly.

He knows all the right things to say and do.

When I looked into those brown eyes of his and said.

“So what does that mean exactly in terms of us?”

He shrugged those broad shoulders loosely.

“What do you want it to mean?”

Good question, trust him to come up with it, put me on the spot. Thought that was my job with him, hence the talk.

It was my turn to shrug my shoulders.

“I know what I don’t want. Does that help?”

“Definitely.”

“I don’t want another situation like this coming up again. Whether we’re together or timing out. Because no matter how much you think I’m yours for the keeping, I will be gone. End it.  There will be no us, again. Ever. Am I making myself clear?”

I think he actually looked shocked for once.  That’s an effort in itself, to unmask his cool like that.   But  some part of me was fired up.  Made me feel strong, good, in control, for a moment.

He nodded his head at me.

“So how is this going to work? The you, me and her situation?”

Again with the shoulder shrug.

“Is she Breukelen?”

“Yeah, she’s pack.”

Figures. Of course she would be.  Our pack isn’t the largest in New York but there’s still more than enough of us for me not to know everyone in it.  Or to have ever met her before.  I mean I didn’t even recognise her, and even then, with Conall, I wasn’t ready to ask her name. Or know it.

“I don’t know, but I do know what I don’t want.” He said.

“Okay, let’s start there.”

“I don’t want to be without you.”

Don’t you think my heart was just slamming into my chest when he said that to me? My skin was burning up. My mind was floored. I couldn’t think of anything else to say and he didn’t offer anything else. I don’t think he had to.

Conall, man of little words but when he says something it has impact. It has meaning and it fills me up.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 463 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 47,878 hits