A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

Welcome to my life | July 29, 2009

You know it gets tricky when you’re censored on certain bits of information and you can only speak about half of the stuff you’d really like to explain.

 

Welcome to my life.

Life in the Breukelen Pack. Pack’s have structure, guidance, rules to govern behavior by.  And of course with those processes in place, there is punishment for disobedience and disregard of them.

In New York City, it’s not a complete secret, just not publicly, widely acknowledged in the open, that there are five wolf packs. I come from the Breukelen, in Brooklyn, the third biggest of the five.  

In having Aimee find out….about…me, us, them…all of it, it means I need to explain some things to her. It means she has questions and curiosities that she wants to know about and possibly a thing or two, that she needs to know about the whole sitch.

So what do I tell her? After all, I want to be honest, but I don’t want to freak her out any further.

After all, my first answer to her reaction upon finding out that I can dislocate my jaw and grow fur, was not a warm and fuzzy one. I said it was about self preservation and I wasn’t lying.  All wolves, when pushed or threatened immediately have a response to defend ourselves, to go on the attack rather than be attacked. It’s highly instinctual and very much a part of being a werewolf. When you have to carry a secret that your life depends on in some way, you will do what you must to be able to live your life, as freely as possible.

Of course, what you consider freedom, might vary to other opinions. Hence why there are “Lone Wolves”.

What’s a lone wolf?

Okay, that one I can answer.

Pretty much what it sounds like, a single wolf without a pack. Who does not live in a pack structured environment and therefore has no regard for rules or regulations. They do as they please, when they please, however they please.  Lone wolves can very much upset the carefully crafted balance of a pack structure. It’s why they’re not encouraged. Why they’re looked down upon by were-wolves. 

So what am I allowed to tell her about this new world she’s only just opened her eyes to?

Only certain bits, the bits that my Alpha and father has approved for me to speak of.  So I have to start my next conversation piece with Aimee saying, please understand I don’t want to be dishonest with you, but I can’t tell you everything there is to know about my life. I just can’t.

Yeah, that’ll go down well, right.  Isn’t that as bad as lying? Like why bother saying anything if she’s still not going to have enough information to satisfy things between us?

Well, I guess it comes back to, this isn’t really about her, it’s about me.

Self preservation.

So does knowing or not knowing all this stuff about me, affect where I stand in her life?

Why would it?

Yes, I have questions of my own too.  Ah, let the head tripping commence.

Like I said, welcome to my life.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 472 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 46,205 hits