A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

Contending | August 21, 2009

Family, you can’t live with them you can’t disown them.

Well, you can actually. And I do, live with them, that is. Some of them. Bodil and Aksel live out of home and Markus is barely ever around.  So really it’s just me, Joss, Dad and Annabeth.

But sometimes, even that’s too much.  Let me tell you having genetics that make you part animal, make you feel part animal at times. Like you’re caged by the walls that shelter you at home.  By the people that protect you.

Being half-breed sure gives meaning to sensation of restlessness, of needing space.  Normal life intrudes all the time and you can’t focus on anything else, because you can’t escape the cover of normalacy that keeps your life in order, your identity secret. Your safety in check by it’s mundane rules and expectations that you go through the regular moitions of what you must because you must.

Maybe I’m just pissed off cause in a couple of days it’ll be my birthday. I dunno, I’ve never really enjoyed my birthday.

Then again, were-wolves feel things when there’s no lunar cycle, I mean, part of us is always the wolf, deep, deep down inside. Just lunar weeks make it all incredibly more real.  I guess I don’t really acknowledge my wolf when its not a lunar week. I keep her at bay a lot of the time.

Part of that whole secret identity thing I’ve had to deal with my whole life, balancing who you are versus what you are, making you in the end, who you contend with.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 463 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 47,889 hits