A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

Worse than Punishment | September 21, 2009

Okay, so now 3 people know about the mugging and the possibility of me having turned a Non into a Lycan.

I told Aimee, so now she, Conall and Bodil know. Which should mean, by rights, you’d think, that I’d have the guts to speak to my father, the Breukelen leading Alpha about the whole incident.

Yer Right.

What’s worse than making your parents angry?
Disappointing them.

Seeing the look of disappointment in their face back at you.

My father does silent and moody very well, but his face is far more expressive than he realises. He wouldn’t even need to say the words; I’d just see it there on his face, looking right back at me. Un missible, unmistakable and totally hurtful. It’s just, well, there are still some things that are hard to say to my father, even as an adult. It’s like a magical hold that a parent has over their kid. Invisible barrier that just sits there. I know it’s irrational and stupid and I should just get this over with. But I’m hoping that I can sort it out, figure it out, without having to possibly involve him.

I know, it’s wishful thinking. But I should keep thinking positive; after all, it could be worse.

It could always be worse.
Have to keep that in mind.

I should be happy that I live in these “times”. Because in ancient European lore, Armenian women would be condemned to spend seven years in werewolf form if they were found guilty of “deadly sins”.

Not sure how that works. I mean, it’s either slightly exaggerated history lesson to scare the bejesus out of young girls into doing the right thing – a bit like the whole “little red riding hood” fable (keep your virginity girls! lest ye be tempted to stray into bed with a werewolf in utter lust!). Because as far as I know, only Alpha werewolf’s can hold their wolf form for as long as they require.

Beta wolves like me, have to shape-shift during lunar week. We can bring on a shift during non-lunar week time to go to werewolf form at will. But the form only holds for so long. Usually a around five to seven hours, after that, the shift will automatically start in order to revert us back to our human selves. It’s just how it works. One body’s way of coping I guess.

Alpha’s get far more say in the matter. They have greater control and command from what I’ve seen.

Or of course, it could be even worse than that.

I could end up at Plum Island Animal Disease Centre. I mean, I’m sure my father wouldn’t send me there. I’m sure. I’m sure. I’m sure. I’m fairly sure.

Okay I think I’m getting a little paranoid about this whole telling my father business thing now. I mean, everybody knows Plum Island doesn’t deal with….our kind.

Well, okay, I don’t know that for certain.

I mean there are always rumours about that place. Seriously, scary, rumours, that I’ve heard ever since I was a kid. Which kind of make that place, something of an urban legend.

The kind of rumours that just don’t ever go away. So it makes you wonder how much of it is true.

Like the one about how bounty hunters are asked to capture werewolves for secret government testing over there. Or what about how werewolves of a ‘certain nature’ (read lycan or lone wolves) are put in there for the lab coats to figure out how much of threat we are to the humans and finding out all about our biology, the weakness, how it all works.

Or the scariest rumour I’ve heard is the one that never seems to go away.

That Plum Island is the place were werewolves are disposed of, and I don’t mean like it’s a jail.

Most pack wolves believe, that if you go to Plum Island, you never come back.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 472 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 46,210 hits