A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

Shadows and Darkness: Werewolves & love | May 25, 2010

The walk home ended with the ex boyfriend and I on the front stoop of my family home. Again. Talk about De ja Vu. The moon was higher in the night sky but our front stoop was encased in shadows and darkness. A cool camouflage refuge. But refuge from what?
What was it exactly I was feeling?

“Remember us making out here, all hot heavy?”

I was somewhat great full for the darkness around us. I didn’t want Conall to see the flush creeping up into my face. Well, he could probably figure it out, sense my feelings, possibly feel the heat of my blush even three meters away from me. Werewolf sensory perception and all.

I remembered. How could I forget? When Conall and I were together it was always intense, hot and heavy. Always. Who can forget that sensation when you’ve had it for as long as we had?

“Yeah.”

If we were still together, we’d be making out right now. Doing all kinds of naked fun things in the dark. He was standing opposite me just staring at me. My legs felt like betraying me, and not letting me move. I felt…a little lost. My nerves were racing and I’m not sure why. Conall stepped towards me then. He probably was listening to the maddening beat of my heart going crazy.

I put up a hand, taking a step back from him. Okay the nerves, the picked up pulse of my heart beat was anxiousness. I got that now. Conall made me nervous, not nervous excited. Just nervous anxious.

He smirked at me.

“You’ve already pushed your luck in walking me home.”

“Have I?” He asked smiling brightly.

Great, I’ve just stoked his ego. What werewolf doesn’t like a challenge? Wrong wolf to try that on. Not that I’m trying! Damn it!

“I’m calling it a night.” I said shifting towards the front door. Conall moved so swiftly it was like the lightest touch of disturbance in the air and then he was between me and the door, and I was caught out. Pressed against him, his hands on me, holding me there, to him. Feeling the heat and sticky sweat seep from his body to mine.

I had no idea he could move that fast. He’s never been that fast before. Probably I’m just off my game. Not focusing on things, confused, upset mind and all. Of course, I guess it’s mostly my own doing, the upset. Werewolves can sense moods, sense spikes in pulse and hear heartbeats, and see through darkness like we’ve got night vision goggles on. Of course, you kind of have to concentrate on that stuff to really make it work for you.

“What do you think you’re..”

My words were cut off as the front door swung open and Conall staggered backwards, right into my older sister, Bodil.
Letting me go instantly as we both regained our balance.

“Oh hey,” Bodil replied casually standing directly in the doorway, eating a cold piece of pizza, looking at us. “thought I heard scampering and look, there you are Conall Wakely.”

My eyes widened and I glanced from Bodil to Conall. Her tone of voice told him she didn’t approve, if he didn’t get her words. She never really had. I guess being older than me, she’d been wiser. Seen what a real cad he was. Took me longer to figure it out when we were together.

“Bodil.” Conall replied straightening himself out and stepping back a few steps from the doorway.

He wouldn’t get into a fight with my sister. One it would look so bad in the whole trying to impress me stakes. And Two, she’d kick his ass to dust. She was after all, the reigning dominance fighter in all of New York.

“Good to see you again.” He said with a nod of his head and taking a few more steps backwards, away from her.

It isn’t like my sister is scary looking. She’s not. She’s the complete opposite of scary looking. Gorgeous, tall, dark hair, dark eyes and an athletes body’ with curves. But she has a well earned reputation for being an amazing fighter and Conall’s seen her in action. That’s something to be scared of.

“Go.” She said widening the door for me to go into the house. I went straight in and didn’t look back. I only sighed relief when I heard the front door latch close. Bodil’s eyes drilled into my back, even in the darkness of the foyer I could feel her stare. I turned around to face her, wasn’t the first time my sister had come through for me, and it’s unlikely to be the last.

“Thanks.” I didn’t know what else to say. Her expression was a mixed one of puzzlement and anger back at me.

“There was a delivery for you, I put it in your room.” She said pushing off the front door and walking back in the kitchen direction. I sighed again, somewhat relieved she wasn’t going to get into whatever that was on the front stoop with me and Conall.

“Thanks, so uh, what are you doing here?” I asked casually trying to make good the small bit of tension I was sensing. I didn’t want her mad at me.
Like ever.

“Raiding the fridge.” Bodil replied walking out into the kitchen.

I shrugged my shoulders and headed off to my bedroom, my hand reached around the wall and flicked the light switch on. On the nightstand next to my bed was a beautiful, large bunch of flowers.

Now I get Bodil’s pissed at me face. I could see the square of the card in the bouquet of mixed flowers. I wonder if she read it. I picked it up and pulled it out of it’s quaint little square envelope.

“Manhattan is not the same without you here. I’m not the same.
I miss you. I know you need space. But please call me.

Paris.”

I sighed and flopped down on my bed.

Okay now I feel like a total heel. My head hurts, and my body aches and it has nothing to do with shape shifting and everything to do with werewolves and love.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 471 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 47,106 hits