A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn

A Wolf’s tail | November 30, 2010

I knock on the front door of a house, I haven’t been to in a long time. The door opens to reveal Conall Wakely, in a unbuttoned shirt, with wet hair and jeans on.

My ex, boyfriend. Never thought I’d be back here. But Conall and me, we’ve been in each other’s lives for so long now, seems slightly inevitable. Unbreakable, even.

“Well now, look who came back to me.” He says with a half smile back at me as his eyes drop and he looks me over, approvingly. I sigh and move, crossing my arms.

“Small world.” I reply trying not to take in the sight of his naked chest exposed by the loose shirt flapping around with the movement of him. “Werewolves tend to stick close to what they know.”

“So what is this then? You want to fuck around on the side, is that it? Is that why Booker was all over your ass the other night?” He asks turning around and walking back into his house. Leaving the front door open.

I sigh and walk through, following him. That’s about as nice an invitation to coming in, as I’m going to get. Considering I’m not exactly welcome.

Somewhere in that brain of his, Conall still sees me as his. I have no fucking idea why other than he’s jealous of Paris, being an Alpha werewolf, taking up position in my life with me.

“He wasn’t all over me.” I shake my head. Can’t believe I’m getting into a stupid fight with him. Some things never change. He knows how to insult me, sufficiently. How to be immaturely jealous. How to be pissy.

“I can’t believe you’d let a Lycan touch you, rather than me.” He says walking into the kitchen. “I mean, come on. We’re bruised together, I can see that, but a Lycan?” He says sticking his head in the fridge and pulling out two bottles of water and throwing one at me. “Why the hell would you let one of them, into your skin. I mean, don’t get me wrong, Booker is…”

“This isn’t about fucking.” I mutter angrily, catching the bottle of water. “And there was no groping, or fucking going on. I gather you don’t know why he was with me then the other night. That you don’t know why I’m house detained to Brooklyn for the time being?”

Conall straightens up and looks at me as he uncaps the water.

“No. Thought you’d finally seen the light and ditched the Alpha himbo. Was getting into the groove again on the south side. So, what’s it about then, if you haven’t come here to tell me you’ve ditched him, and come back to me?”

“Jesus, Conall, swallow your pride and say ‘his’ name. Paris. I’m still very much with him, thank you. This isn’t about us.” I look at my water bottle.

“But you’re not in Manhattan with Paris, and he’s not in Brooklyn with you, and you’re standing in your last boyfriend’s house with him, so what gives?”

“It’s about restoring me. It’s about being a Breukelen.” I say watching his face closely as he seems to guage my words and their conviction.

I just don’t throw my pack name around or the reputation behind it, the meaning associated with it, easily. None of us Breukelen werewolves do.

“So it’s about pack business?” He asks me seeking clarity. “Does this have something to do with Vargr, cause I was thinking about that dude and…”

“No. It’s far more personal than that. And so far up you’re alley, it’s like a natural ability for you. That’s why I need your help executing this.”

I put the bottle down on the kitchen bench top near by, watching as Conall downs a mouthful of water quickly. He wipes his mouth and smiles back at me.

“This does not mean we’re” I say waving a hand between us “Getting back together again.”

I don’t know why I’m saying this, I can practically see how it falls on deaf ears as Conall’s mouth tweaks into a smile. He thinks it means, exactly that. Like I’m speaking backwards girl code for what I really want from him.

Sigh.

He smirks at me. “Welcome to the beginning again,”

“More like end.” I fire at him.

“We do love to chase ourselves in circles. Chasing our own tails hey? I knew I was good for something, to you. Had something, Paris couldn’t offer you. Glad to see you come round to that way of thinking. So now,” He says leaning a hand on the bench top.

“What can I do for you babe, that your packmate can’t?”

2 Comments »

  1. Grr. Better be a good reason for you to ask this loser Conall for help?! Lol

    Comment by Pierre — November 30, 2010 @ 8:16 am

    • Dear Wolf Boy – You should know me well enough by now to know I’d only go near Conall if i had to.
      The Reasoning is good – watch for tomorrow’s post.

      Comment by Breukelen Girl — November 30, 2010 @ 4:20 pm


Leave a Reply

    Arrooo! Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 472 other followers

    Follow A Werewolf Blog in Brooklyn on WordPress.com

    Search for posts

    Blog Stats

    • 46,197 hits